Sports Awards 2015

Thank you to everyone that was involved in our Blaby District Local Sports Alliance (LSA) annual sports Awards.

With eight categories, 16 finalists and a vast array of local sporting talent; the sixth annual Blaby Local Sports Alliance (LSA) Sports Awards took place on Tuesday 24 November at Countesthorpe College.

Funded by Glebe Garden Centre the event recognises sportspeople, coaches and volunteers in the community who excel at making Blaby District the best place for sport and physical activity.

One of the most hotly contested categories was for Young Sports Team of the year; with Thomas Estley Girls FC runners-up. This remarkable team became English champions for the second year in a row at the Madejski Stadium, Reading, while also winning the County Cup, South Leicestershire Championship and were crowned Blaby and Harborough champions without conceding a goal.

However it was swim team Leicester Sharks who took the honour. Eight talented youngsters competed in the British National Championships, while three took part in the International Children's Games in the Netherlands. The team also racked up an incredible 233 medals in the Leicestershire ASA County Championships.

Dodgeball side Leicester City Ligers took the title of Sports Team of the Year, becoming the first team ever to win the National Championship via the wildcard qualifying route. In other categories, 10-year-old running sensation Destiny Nicholson won Young Sportsperson of the Year. Lizzie Warner, who won silver at the Commonwealth Youth Games in Samoa, was runner-up.

In the Sports Person of the Year, cycling prodigy Grace Garner narrowly missed out on winning the awards for the second year in a row, with runner Nicki Nealon taking the honour. Nicki represented England Masters in the International Cross Country, winning silver and team gold. Alongside this, her victory in the Bridlington Half Marathon took her total number of race victories for local team Huncote Harriers to 298.

Richard Moore was given the LSA Special Recognition Award for 30 years of tireless dedication to Enderby Gymnastics Club, delivering sessions to over 60 gymnasts.

Alongside a host of fantastic sporting talent we also had performances from three truly incredible acts:

Keelan Phillips, 5 time UK Champion, perfomed a unique and stylish freestyle performance.

Huncote Hearts, last years runners up for Young Team of the Year, produced a flawless cheerleading routine.

Francis T Roughley, a professional dancer and choreographer, performed a sintilating street dance routine.

In conclusion to the evening:

Councillor Sheila Scott, Portfolio Holder for Leisure, said: "This was one of the strongest years we've ever had and picking a winner for each category was incredibly hard! These awards are our chance to honour everyone involved in sport in this district, whether they are volunteer or at the pinnacle of their chosen sport.

"I'm so proud that we have such sporting talent in Blaby District and I hope they all continue their hard work long into the future!"

Comments from the night:

"Great fun, thank you and good to see how much happens in the district"

"Very well organised evening – enjoyed the awards and entertainment"

"Really enjoyed the evening. Compering by Ian
Stringer was very good and the entertainment was great. Very well organised,
impressed by the diversity of sports represented. Thank you for a fab evening"

Award Winners and Runners Up

Full list of winners and runners-up

Active 4 Life – Health and Wellbeing Award
Runner-Up – Jeff Hurd
Winner – Pauline and John Osband

Sponsored by – The Blaby District Staying Healthy Partnership

Volunteer of the Year
Runner-Up – Will Johnson
Winner – Barry Hibberd

Sponsored by – Everyone Active

Coach of the Year
Runner-Up – Liam O'Sheehan
Winner – Guy Worrow

Sponsored by – Mick Allard (LSA Ambassador)

Young Sports Team of the Year
Runner-Up – Thomas Estley Girls FC
Winner – Leicester Sharks Swim Team

Sponsored by – Active Together Blaby

Sports Team of the Year
Runner-Up – Countesthorpe U19 Girls FC
Winner – Leicester City Ligers Dodgeball

Sponsored by – Cabsite Portable Building Sales Ltd.

Young Sports Person of the Year
Runner-Up – Lizzie Warner (Archery)
Winner – Destiny Nicholson (Running)

Sponsored by – BIG RED MAGAZINE

Sports Person of the Year
Runner-Up – Grace Garner (Cycling)
Winner – Nicki Nealon (Running)

Sponsored by – Barry Bott Jewellers & BB Too

LSA Special Recognition Award
Runner-Up – Nigel Williams
Winner – Richard Moore

Sponsored by – Cllr Sheila Scott (Chair of the Blaby Local Sports Alliance and Portfolio Holder for Health Improvement & Leisure Services)