Sports Awards 2017

Highlights of the evening

Winners and Runners Up

Active 4 Life – Health & Wellbeing Award

Runners up: Sarah Askram and Debbie Askram

Winner: Holmes Parking Walking Football

Sponsored by the Blaby District Staying Healthy Partnership and presented by Jon Wells on behalf of the Blaby District Staying Healthy Partnership

Coach of the Year Award

Runners up: Alex Hoult and Katie Suffolk

Winner: Adam Blaze

Sponsored and presented by Mick Allard, Member of Blaby District LSA

Young Sports Team of the Year Award

Runners up to collect certificates: Cosby Ravens FC and Countesthorpe Leysland Yr 8 Basketball

Winner: Enderby U13 Dodgeball Team

Sponsored by The Pavilion and presented by Nathan Battu, Senior Health & Fitness Instructor, The Pavilion Leisure Centre

Outstanding Commitment to Community Sport Award

Winner: Old Newtonians RFC

Sponsored by Sponsored by Thorps Lettings Ltd

Presented by Louise Thorp,

Young Sports Person of the Year

Runners up: Luke Jesson and Libby Smith

Winner: Hope Perrett

Sponsored by BIG RED MAGAZINE presented by Elaine Ellis, Sales Manager at BIG RED MAGAZINE

Sports Person of the Year

Runners up: Alex Harris and Jenny Maxwell

Winner: Lizzie Warner

Sponsored and presented by Cllr Sheila Scott, Planning, Housing Strategy, Economic and Community Development Portfolio Holder

Sports Person (with a disability) of the Year

Runners up: Matthew Pietrzyk and Liam Mahoney

Winner: Liam Hall

Sponsored by Active Together Blaby and presented by Darren Farish, Sport & Physical Activity Team Leader at Blaby District Council

Volunteer of the Year Award

Runners up: Mark Yates and Caroline Reene

Winner: Alan Downes

Sponsored by Everyone Active and presented by James Naylor, Partnerships Manager at Enderby Leisure Centre

LSA Special Recognition Award

Runners Up: Julie Payne and Dave Price

Winner: John Dalton

Sponsored by Dine India

Presented by Janice Richards, Chairman of Leicestershire County Council